AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Working for free
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

hibernian
Posted 1/7/2019 18:41 (#7227713 - in reply to #7227611)
Subject: RE: Working for free

Northeast Maine/Southern New Hampshire.
Hoosierheartland - 1/7/2019 18:14

Hi all, this is my first post here, i have followed on here for a long time and just would like to say you all seem like a class act and through reading a lot of the posts here alone I have come to gain a lot of respect for the opinions and wisdom of people on here, so I’ll ask you all a question that always bothers me in the back of my mind. My father and I farm together, we are a very small farm by today’s standards at 500 acres (own 2/3) and we finish 80-120 beef cattle per year. We also both work off the farm in construction trades. I am a heavy equipment mechanic by trade. I have been fortunate and found a good position in the company I work for and I am what I feel very well compensated for my time at work. I am also very blessed to have a wife who works a good job. We do well but as I suppose the human condition dictates, could be better. I currently do not farm any acres on my own. I really have no stake in this business at this point other than my investment of time and the “promise” of my inheritance. I’m 26 and have started my own family. The current situation between my father and I is: I work for free. Not cheap, not gives me this or that in exchange for help. I work for 0 dollars and 0 cents a year. He gave me a couple acres to build a house a few years ago. He offered the same deal to all us kids even though I’m the only one who took it, I’m the only one who has anything to do with the farm, so I can hardly look at that as a compensation for my work but I’d be a fool to think that he doesn’t view that as part of my salary. And this is not a situation where I go run trucks for dad at harvest a few hours a ye