AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Son and Hired Man.....
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

Farmdog1
Posted 4/27/2015 14:36 (#4540858)
Subject: Son and Hired Man.....

Hi I am a new member here but long time lurker and have learned a lot over the years on these forums. I wanted to get opinions on an issue I am having regarding our farming operation.

A little background... our farm consists of 2 brothers one of which is my father, and then one full time hired man. I graduated college a year ago and during college I started a side business that has grown into something that makes me a fair bit of income and it goes along great with farming (doesn't really interfere). I have a few parcels of my own, but not enough to make a living.

My frustration is the fact that we do have a hired man, and in all honesty 3 men is enough to make our operation work just fine the majority of the time. I work for them full time in the spring and fall, but make peanuts compared to the salaried hired man. This spring I have been running the planter, the hired man has been working in front of me, and then my father and uncle have been bringing me seed (a one person job).... So far most days one of them has not had to really do anything.