AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

EZ GUIDE 500 - EZ STEER SETTINGS
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

LanceM
Posted 4/26/2007 15:01 (#142891 - in reply to #142850)
Subject: RE: Tell the whole story.....

DG N. AL - 4/26/2007 13:44

How accurate are your guess rows?

Can you repeat the lines?

Can you use them for spraying or side dressing?

Sure they are straight, You get relatively straight rows with any GPS signal. But WAAS WILL have drift and there are times when it will have significant jumps in a short period of time. I have been using GPS since 1996. I started with the old C-Band receivers. I have used Omnistar basic and then WAAS. I am now running RTK. There is a reason that the more accurate subscription services cost more. You get what you pay for. If they were no better than WAAS, no one would buy them. Yes, WAAS is accurate enough for many things, but row crop planting is not one of them. You can not plant with WAAS using a 12 row planter and follow it with an 8 row corn head. I have seen WAAS move 12 inches in less than 10 minutes. I have seen it make jumps as much as 30". You will see it also. What is the use of planting with auto steer if you can not use the lines later in the season.

Guess rows?
Guess rows are fine. You occasionally have to nudge a bit or play with it, yeah, you really got me there. Would I pay $1000's of dollars so I didn't have to pay attention at all (and best of all),
not use my markers? No.

Repeat lines?
No, I don't think I can repeat them accurately without resetting. Once I do that? I'm fine again. Would I pay $1000's of dollars so I didn't have to take 1 minute and line up when I come back? No.

Spraying and side dressing?

Of course I can. If you have dead straight rows with perfect guess rows why couldn't you?