AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Did anyone see the 60 Minutes tonight
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Market TalkMessage format

WYDave
Posted 4/4/2011 04:44 (#1707378 - in reply to #1707258)
Subject: Re: Did anyone see the 60 Minutes tonight

Wyoming

I've been tracking this charlie-foxtrot for at least two years. It is every bit as bad as 60 Minutes says, and actually worse.

Long story short, here's what will likely happen: The American taxpayer and property owner will be screwed by the large banks with the assistance of the United States Congress. Why?

Because most people don't know how any of this works. The level of detail, legal issue and mathematics involved makes their eyes roll back in their heads and they start twitching. Go ahead, ask people what a REMIC is, and then ask about the tax law governing a REMIC's formation. Ask people why the securitization via a REMIC is what made this a double-deep hole in the ground. Do people understand PSA's? (Pooling and servicing agreements) when they send in their mortgage check every month? Probably not. Do people understand that if enough people stop paying their mortgages, that the PSA's allow for a put-back onto the originating bank? No.

To not put too fine a point on it, Mr. and Mrs. Public are simply too stupid to understand what is going on here. This is a labyrinth of bank sleight-of-hand, Internal Revenue Code, securitization and state-by-state real estate law that simply exceeds most people's ability to understand it. It certainly exceeded the mental capacity of those who created MERS, which is why the bankers are now being hoist upon their own petards.