AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

There's more to life than work.
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

ollieolliver
Posted 8/18/2014 10:56 (#4024729)
Subject: There's more to life than work.

Central Minnesota
I found out the hard way, but fortunately I was able to talk her off the ledge. Here's my story:

I have been farming for a few years. Bought my Grandpa's farm before he passed away. I started with an Oliver 880 and a 495 Deere planter putting in 40 acres of beans and some hay. Mind you, this was 5 years ago, not 30. In the past years I have got caught up in the "Gotta go huge" syndrome. Of course everyone wants to expand and get bigger. I had a lot of things go my way, but also my fair share of things that didn't, which I dwelled on. Instead of looking at the positives in my life, I looked at the negatives, and it has been eating me alive. All I wanted was more, and more, and more and because of that, and also reading agtalk about how "everyone" has an off farm job, and if you don't, you're not going to make it especially getting started. I got it in my head that I needed one too. And if that wasn't enough, I wanted to start another off farm business to supplement the farm. All I could think about was doing anything I could to make more money. And I have. I have done well for myself for my age. But, what I have been neglecting this whole time is my wonderful beautiful little blonde lady at home who works a job, cleans, cooks, and loves me. I got myself caught up in putting the farm, business, and work way in front of her, and thankfully I don't have little ones running around that I had to subject them to my temper, anxiety, and constant thoughts of how I'm gonna make my next buck and what I need to do to accomplish it. I would leave most mornings (we have a house in town away from the farm) early in the morning and not come home even on the weekends until late at night