AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Pigpiggy - bears
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Kitchen TableMessage format

cfdr
Posted 3/8/2020 16:59 (#8089757 - in reply to #8089684)
Subject: RE: Pigpiggy - bears

I found pictures of the one that almost ate me too. I have to emphasize that this is a very unusual bear. The first picture shows a sheep I was photographing down in the fall colors. It was maybe three hundred yards from the road, and Judy decided to take a short nap while I went up to the sheep. This was the last picture of the sheep I took. You can see the grass in her mouth. She is looking directly over the top of me, and she is alarmed. Immediately after tripping the shutter, she bolted up the mountainside. At that moment, I suspected that I might be in trouble. I looked around to see a very aggressive grizzly coming through the brush. I had been hunting them for a few years by then, and this bear was not like any other bear I had ever encountered. It really looked aggressive, and, I knew at that moment I was in trouble. I started talking loudly, and the bear stopped. I couldn't see it in the brush, but even though it stopped, I was spooked. I picked up my camera/tripod and light meter and quickly crossed a dry wash, went around a big rock bluff, and climbed quite aways up the mountain - stopping just under the ridge so that I would not be outlined in the sky. I should have kept going, but I wanted some pictures - remember - I was young! The bear had been distracted by a parka squirrel, and he was digging it out. In the next picture the bear can be seen jumping after the squirrel that was trying to make a get-away. The squirrel didn't make it, and in the next picture you can just barely see the bear with the squirrel in its mouth. The last picture shows the bear right after swallowing the squirrel - headed toward me. That's when I knew that I was really in trouble. Normally, bears are supposed