AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Took a steer in for processing this morning - pleasant surprise (pic)
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Stock TalkMessage format

Jim
Posted 2/29/2012 23:36 (#2260403 - in reply to #2260088)
Subject: Re: Took a steer in for processing this morning - Black Herefords etc.

Driftless SW Wisconsin

Bill, maybe I should have said I FELT like I was in the hole. Probably made some money selling the corn but not much. I know I am a poor farmer by your standards. However due to a combination of weather and personal factors I seem to often end up with 30%++ moisture near 200 bu corn in WI in November.

If I got into a detailed explanation of how I grow corn and my costs to do so you (or others) would most likely then report me for "selling".

Lets just let that explanation suffice, OK? Whatever I say further you will find fault with so why continue? I already spend too much time replying to negative comments. If you don't like my posts, just put me on your blocked list as the NAT software provides.

Matt, I AM openly partial to Herefords which a long time cattleman neighbor got me started with. The Herefords have certain breed characteristics as do other breeds. I have no axe to grind on various breeds. Others here are partial to many other breeds.

One thing that does get under my skin is the idea that if I should happen to want to sell at a sale barn for some reason, my cattle will likely sell for less than a similar quality and weight etc one with a black hide. I suspect I am not alone in that respect. I recently received a sale flyer in the mail from a ranch in Kansas talking about their "Black Herefords". 

I was going to type a quote from their sale flyer but what's the point? No matter what I post you and Bill will find fault with it.