AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Integra, Direct Command and pressure
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 2/9/2019 10:20 (#7308632 - in reply to #7308598)
Subject: RE: Integra, Direct Command and pressure

Southern Minnesota Between Freeborn & Wells
Quite a difference in our operating procedures. I am not concerned about getting every last drop out the tank before I refill. With your coupe and limited capacity that would be more of a concern. I would never want to "run out" in the middle of a pass as it would seem wasteful to drive back empty and then drive back without spraying to that spot.

Part of my concern about not running the tanks empty is the fear of doing damage to the pump. It doesn't take very long to take the seal out of a centrifugal pump if it runs dry. When I worked as a tech I saw the results many times.

I have used this trick to get the tanks fairly low and end up at the end of a pass. I watch the remaining tank quantity and decide if there is enough product to make another pass. If not, I may make a pass partway across the field until the volume is reduced a little less than half of where I started that pass. I then turn around (knock down some crop) and spray back. When I return to the field I move over to the next pass and pick up the stubs from the previous path. This requires turning around in the field again. Depending on the situation this may or may not be a wise plan.