AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Sometimes you want to grab a engineer and shove
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Machinery TalkMessage format

Dave-ECIA
Posted 12/20/2008 10:16 (#540885 - in reply to #540673)
Subject: I'd like to chime in here

I worked as a Quality Engineer for a manufacturing company for just over 5 years, spent a total of 13 with the company.

In a nutshell, my job was to be a liason between the shop floor/customers and the various engineering departments. Some days we were working on more efficient ways to manufacture, other days I fielded complaints from the field and investigated ways to improve.

Disclaimer here: I was not, nor did it require that I be a licensed engineer. I was not educated as an engineer, I was recognized as having problem solving and mechanical skills that would benefit the position. I worked my way up from the shop floor and took the time to educate myself. This statement in no way places any blame on Engineers, nor does it make them any less valuable in a specific role. End disclaimer.

Having said that, I was fortunate to work for a company that recognized the knowlege of the guys on the floor. They often pushed ideas from them to the engineers whether they liked them or not (usually because they didn't think of them). They often sent new engineers to work with me to show them the ropes. The first thing we indoctrinated in those new engineers "Forget everything they taught you in college, the most valuable thing they taught you was how to learn, the rest we'll teach you." In effect we were telling them, we'll tell you what the problem is, and several solutions, use your skills to figure out which is best.

Ok, back to the original thread.