AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

McAfee AV & firewall software question
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Computer TalkMessage format

boog
Posted 5/4/2009 08:30 (#702532 - in reply to #702350)
Subject: Re: McAfee AV & firewall software question

Ron, like you I'm a farmer not a computer geek so I have to listen to others for any computer know how. My old computer had Norton, this was several years ago. I read & had heard that Norton slowed computers way down and was told McAfee was thew way to go so I made the switch. I really couldn't see much difference in the way my computer operated.

About 5 years ago I bought a new desktop that came with Norton. Once again I start asking questions, on here & other places & people and learned about SpyBot Search & Destroy & AVGFree. I checked a couple computer magazines & websites & found Norton & McAfee to be rated at the bottom for AVs with AVG being one of the highe rated AVs at the time so I removed the Norton & downloaded SpyBot & AVGFREE. Never had any problems that I know of but a couple years ago I got to worrying about how good AVGFREE really was. So along with some persuasion from AVG I went to a paid version of AVG which was suppose to be better.

That version was always asking me questions when ever a program tried to download an uodate or if I wanted to allow changes. Like I said, I'm a farmer not a computer expert so never knew if I was answering the questions right or not. Back in Feb my subscription expired so Iwent back to the free version. Not smart enough to know if I made the right decision or not but so far no problems.