AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

401K vs saving for farmland
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Market TalkMessage format

Lookingglass
Posted 1/28/2019 10:33 (#7278707 - in reply to #7278014)
Subject: RE: 401K vs saving for farmland

Southwest Illinois
GrainTrader - 1/28/2019 03:33

For those who have 401K’s, especially those with an employer match program, how do you balance saving for a farmland down payment/purchase and contributing to a 401K?

Currently my employer is matching 42 cents on the dollar. That match percentage changes quartet with the profitability of the company, but I think this is the most they’ve contributed since they’ve been in business. I’m a farmer at heart and want to own farmland. I am in what I consider a slightly inflated farmland priced area because of the proximity to the city here, but it’s still within reason of prices vs yields I hear on here usually, so I do intend on buying more land at a later date when I’m more stable and have down payment money to make the payment cash flow...

How crazy am I to not max my 401K contribution and forget about land right now? Or am I crazy to give someone else my money rather then buying even small parcels?