AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Shaking my head...organics/natural/pesticides
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Kitchen TableMessage format

paul the original
Posted 5/18/2017 08:44 (#6022921 - in reply to #6022867)
Subject: RE: Shaking my head...organics/natural/pesticides

southern MN
This thread is still live! Cool.

I observed this discussion at a few meetings of late.

City folk that gear I am a farmer assume I sell garden produce from 3 acres and instantly start talking about organic this or that and so forth.

Farm groups I sit down with talk about how weed, unclean, sickly, the crops and meat from neighboring small organic producers is, and how they really aren't interested in getting their food from such places.

Certainly these are general groupings, individual organic and conventional farmers are all different.

But it has been interesting to sit back and watch the conversations, and consider what people perceive and what they wish for.

Both sides wish for healthy, wholesome, good food.

Thry see the other side as less than wholesome.

I'm glad we have choices and continue the system where all markets can be fulfilled.

My personal view is that it is unfortunate some few in the organic side have gotten into the 'fake news' side of trying to promote their products at a premium price by spreading falsehoods about general farming. That clearly is wrong.

It doesn't mean that organics, or organic farming, is wrong, but the advertising and promotion of it has gone some too far......

Healthy food comes from healthy and pure grains and meats. We need to process them into balanced, wholesome foods.