AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

What should I consider my BP to be?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Kitchen TableMessage format

John Burns
Posted 3/22/2020 15:01 (#8129173 - in reply to #8129074)
Subject: RE: What should I consider my BP to be?

Pittsburg, Kansas

First the disclaimer. I'm not a doctor and this is not medical advice.

This is just my opinion on what I think I have learned.

I am about where you are pressure wise. 120/80 is supposedly "normal". I can now get that low (no longer on 2 BP medications after losing weight) but other times I will be up a little higher.

From what I have learned concerning the side effects of BP medicine is for an older person particularly, anything under about 140-150 over 70-80 is about the cutoff where the benefits outweigh the downsides and side effects of BP medicine. In other words if it consistently at rest is over that area the BP medicine might have benefits. If below that the benefits may not outweigh the side effects.

Another thing I learned recently is that in trials the BP medicine DID lower the blood pressure modestly but...... it also raised the heart rate beats per minute.......negating much of the healt benefit of lowering the pressure. In other words the BP medicine lowered the pressure but the body compensated by increasing the heart rate. So maybe the body might know something we don't know about blood pressure? Like maybe we NEED that pressure for our existing physiological makeup to supply the body correctly?