AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

oil company wants to put seismic sensors on my place for 6 months...
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

Drilldo
Posted 9/1/2014 23:05 (#4051222 - in reply to #4049588)
Subject: RE: oil company wants to put seismic sensors on my place for 6 months...

Texas
This is what I do for a living.

There are two basic types of surveys. Speculative and those done by the mineral owner or lease holder. Spec shoots they must be given permission to do. Basically the seismic company goes into an area they think is going to be hot and they acquire the data with hopes of selling it many times to oil companies that are active in the area. You can tell these people no and there is not much they can do about it. When the mineral owner or lease holder wants to do seismic there is nothing a surface owner can do to stop them in Texas. The mineral estate is the dominant estate. They can do whatever necessary on the surface to exploit their minerals as long as they compensate the surface owner a fair amount for any damages. I have seen several times the sheriff deliver restraining orders to the landowner to let the seismic crew on. I hate to see that, but it is the way the law is.

$12.50 an acre for pasture land is a pretty decent offer. I have seen a lot of it paid at $5 an acre or less. Crop land is a different story. Those of you saying $70 ain't squat are right in one aspect but then again he only has 5 acres. Many times a whole project is spec'd out at a set rate per acre for damages. For example in this case everyone would get $12.50 an acre. Not to impressive for the guy with 5 acres but if you have a section $8,000 isn't bad. We have done seismic on a whole section in three days before and we were done and the landowner did not even think we had done it yet. Other areas you have to do bull dozing, wood gator, etc and there is more damage.