AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

JD Pro Auto Swath/G2
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 5/24/2006 07:02 (#14364 - in reply to #14345)
Subject: Re: JD Pro Auto Swath/G2

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
I have no experience with either the Deere system or the Mid-Tech system. I do however have Ag Leader's Insight running with their Direct Command liquid module to control my pull type sprayer. I use the AutoSwath optional feature for Boom valve control.

On the Ag Leader system the relative distances from the application point to the the GPS are entered in the vehicle and implement configurations.

For example, with all my vehicles (tractors etc.), the distance between the GPS and the tractor axle is one parameter, the distance between the axle to the hitch point is another and also the distance between the axle and three-point yet another. These values are entered once and remain associated with that vehicle.

When I define the sprayer, a question is asked about the distance from the hitch point to the boom. This value is also entered only once and remains assoicated with that implement. Likewise for the other implements (NH3 bar, planter etc.) a distance is entered and remains assoicated with that implement.

When you "build" the configuration for the equipment which is being used together, the appropriate distances are used to compute the total distance from the GPS to the application point. In the case of some self-propelled sprayers with front mounted booms this distance may actually be forward of the GPS.

In the setup for the AutoSwath control, there is a turn-on and a turn-off time feature. Apparently the GPS distance, your ground speed and the turn-off and turn-on times are all used to determine when a boom section is cycled ON/OFF.