AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Aerway use in notill
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

Boone & Crockett
Posted 11/28/2015 08:33 (#4924006 - in reply to #4923786)
Subject: RE: Aerway use in notill

mhagny - 11/28/2015 06:41

Boone & Crockett - 11/28/2015 05:19
mhagny - 11/27/2015 19:20

It's a great way to compact your soils, much like a sheepsfoot that is used to build roads.

I agree with the other posters about applying more N -- not necessarily onto the stalks in hopes of decomposing them faster, but merely in a way that the next corn crop can access the additional N.  Also, more S and Zn help.

Matt, I am not a physics scientist, so could you please explain how Aerway compacts like a sheepsfoot? My understanding is the tine enters the ground at a different angle, and with a twist, and tears some, also shattering compaction to the level it's running in the ground. But is the point of the tine compacting the ground beneath it, or is the tine angle such that it does not? Not trying to argue, trying to learn. I liked the idea of a bazillion little water reservoirs to store surface water instead of runoff come spring.