AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Autosteer for Dummies
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

c_mayer
Posted 2/17/2021 07:09 (#8838528 - in reply to #8838081)
Subject: RE: Autosteer for Dummies

Jeffersonville, OH
1sprayer - 2/16/2021 22:27

I've been contemplating autosteer for a couple of years now but when I priced a system at my local dealer the $30,000 price tag scared me away.  I've been reading up on it again and I'm thinking that I could manage fine with the next step up from WAAS instead of needing RTK to plant corn.

Here is where I get confused - my only experience with gps is a Centreline light bar where I have the display unit and a small square antenae (2x2 inch)

To move to a correction type of system I see people talking about  the receiver, display and nav systems?  Where can I learn more about what I need besides a dealer who keeps trying to sell me something I don't want or need?  I've read lots of posts on here where others talk of getting set up with with a 6 inch accuracy type system for $7-8000 what do I need to search for as far as parts go to get started?

I guess I should have learned all of these things 10+ years ago when everyone else was still learning instead of now where I'm totally clueless.

John Deere 7210 if that makes a  difference.

Is your tractor steer ready? I assume not since it's a 7210, would be very odd if it was.

If not, and you want the "integrated" style steering, you have to add a valve. $3-4,000 to buy new. Then you need a steering System, like Ag Leader Steer Command, which is about $5500. Next comes a Display and Receiver, unlocked for a better correction. $4-5500 for a display to plant and steer, and another $4000 for a 4" accuracy (approximately) receiver. That's $19K to buy new.

You can do a "steering wheel turner" for less, roughly $13-15,000 depending on options on the display.