AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Trimble GPS speed to JD Gen4 Display
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 1/23/2018 11:54 (#6525608 - in reply to #6525525)
Subject: RE: Trimble GPS speed to JD Gen4 Display

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
deltagpsguru - 1/22/2018 23:16

Has anyone had any luck feeding the gen4 JD display a 3rd party GPS signal for speed? Trying to get ground speed for a planter, other than transmission speed. Thanks

I know it to be possible with certain combinations of equipment. I have no experience with the exact combination that you are asking about.

I have worked as a Tech and know that it is possible to get emulated radar from a GPS device into a Deere tractor.. The tractor could then display radar speed (actually from the GPS), transmission speed and calculate PerCent slip by comparing the two. The radar like signal is also available at the usual places so it could be used with a planter monitor or other device that needs a radar signal. I believe this is your question.

The first time I saw this done with a GPS speed only devices such as a Sky-Trak or equivalent. These are the Hockey puck like devices that are designed to plug into planter monitors etc to provide radar like speed instead of buying an actual radar gun. Installing one of these to work with the tractor itself was fairly easy. On many Deere tractors there is a 3 pin Metri-pak or maybe it is a Weatherpak connector hidden around the muffler area. When using an actual radar gun, a Deere adapter cable is available that connects to the radar gun. It provides power, ground and returns the signal to the tractor wiring.