AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Queston for mapping experts
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

Arnie
Posted 9/15/2007 04:19 (#203918 - in reply to #203557)
Subject: RE: Queston for mapping experts

Dloc,

I am no expert on LIDAR but will offer these questions and observations.  The more "flat" the topography the better spec you will want.  IE if the LIDAR is +-8" and the local field has undulations of less than that will it be expressed vs say with +-1"?

Having said that I have messed with regular DGPS elevation data collected with a combine and surfaced it out compared to DGPS elevation data taken with a Veris.  Obviously the Veris was collected rapidly (less time to "drift") vs the combine collected at a much slower pace.  The rapidly collected data seemed to discribe the topography much better than the slowly collected data.  Obviously both not as well as with RTK.  So.....my question is on a particular local field in the LIDAR project would the same hold true and thus it would be pretty good or is the +-8" absolute.  A long time ago when I talked to some LIDAR company on the front range it seems they told me the accuracy is very good between one point and an adjacent point but one point compared to another point on the other side of the field was less accurate.