AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Seed dealer ?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

notilltom
Posted 12/29/2009 02:37 (#991369 - in reply to #990740)
Subject: I was a farmer Pioneer rep 1987-1997

Oswald No-Till Farm Cleghorn, IA
As my subject line shows, I sold seed from 1987-1997 for Pioneer. That was during the height of the Pioneer market share and right before things began to slip in terms of market share. It was some of the most rewarding and most troubling work I have done. No doubt, it was a learning experience that would be tough to replace.

Here are some general thoughts to consider but be sure to read the very last one!

1- Is the culture of the company in line with your values as a businessman? That is, are they behaving as someone you would want to do business with if you weren't selling for them? Are they saying one thing and doing another?

2- Product does "sell itself" to a point. And, it loses sales itself when something bad happens consistently. If the products you have to sell aren't "working", eventually sales will decline no matter how hard you work. Can you tolerate spinning your wheels from a financial standpoint? If so, how long can you stand it.

3- Seed is sold to perform a job.... that job isn't always obvious or what you think at first sight. Perception of product value is different for each person.... this goes for the products they use now as well as what you are trying to get them to use. Dollars per acre of predicted return that you believe you are selling may not have much value at all to some guys. For example, to a person who loved the looks and sound of a green poppin' Johnny, a smooth running red 4 cylinder "M" Farmall might never turn their head.