AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

More Insights into Insight operations
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 6/27/2008 07:54 (#405394)
Subject: More Insights into Insight operations

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
Even though I'm old, I'm still learning (painfully slow sometimes) and will present a couple of obserations for what they're worth.

We noticed a couple of areas that obviously did not get the proper amount of NH3 in our corn fields. This was very evident by the color which was exactly the width of the applicator. In each case the pass on either side was nice and green.

Yesterday I checked my NH3 application maps and noticed a slight reduction in the indicated amount of NH3 applied in those two areas. In both cases the yellowing was right to the end. The indicated lower rate was not terribly low as one would have guessed by looking at the corn.

We then switched SMS to make maps based on the loads of NH3. Since I switch regions each time I switch tanks (and name the region with the tank number) this type of analysis is possible. In both cases the color change indicating a tank switch matched up exactly with the yellowing that I observed in the corn.

So what happened? I simply tried to get too many acres out of those two tanks. In the one case the lay of the land was such that I was going uphill somewhat on the end of this last pass.

I try to pride myself on not running the tanks too low but obviously I did in these two cases. When I observed the acres covered in SMS by these two tanks, the math indicated that the tanks were run quite low which is in agreement with the color of the corn.