AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

OneNote
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Computer TalkMessage format

Omar
Posted 11/15/2015 08:45 (#4897321 - in reply to #4894805)
Subject: RE: OneNote

Elmira, Ontario

I've been using OneNote for almost five years. It has replaced notebooks and scrap sheets of paper for me. I don't scratch the surface of what's possible with it though. Some highlights:

I have a "send to OneNote" button in Internet Explorer. I can add a web page to an existing OneNote page, or create a new page. This is how I capture some information that I like to have archives for. OneNote can easily turn that to a pdf then.

I drop meeting emails into a page and then add my notes to the same page.

I can collect multiple emails and copy/paste from other places to get my research notes into one spot for future reference. If I have an idea about something, I just quickly type it on the page for that topic so I don't forget it. I even have a page where I collect some significant quotes that I found interesting.

OneNote has decent search capabilities so I don't get hung up on naming and sorting/filing pages.

OneNote files can be stored anywhere. I keep my main notebook in the cloud. OneNote works on an off-line copy and synch's to the remote copy, almost at a per keystroke level. If the cloud copy isn't available, then it will update the cloud as soon as it becomes available.

If make editing changes to a page, a history version is kept. You almost have to try hard to lose something.