AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Beginner crop scouting help!
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

kscropguy
Posted 3/27/2012 09:25 (#2308265 - in reply to #2308004)
Subject: RE: Beginner crop scouting help!

Central Kansas
I just want to make sure you are thinking it through really well so I am going to show some pitfalls that could accompany your decision to take the position.

1. I have worked as a consultant and a retail fert and chem salesman. As a consultant I checked about 2000-2500 acres per day(irrigated) in dryland I could cover approximately 3000 acres per day. We checked all fields once per week unless otherwise specified on the contract. If we make an assumption that you will be scouting all fields every week it will take 2.5 days to accomplish best case scenario.

2. Spraying your own fields is a great way to get to know what's going on but covering 7000 acres with a sprayer is more than just a part time job. Lets assume you have scouted and need to spray 2500 acres. Now let's assume you have a 1200 gal self propelled sprayer with 90 ft boom spraying roundup at 10GPA spraying 10 mph at 50% efficiency(sorry guys but efficiency is generall lower than you think depending on field size and help/tendering situation) so in a 10 hour day you could cover 654 acres. So it will take you 4 days to spray 2500 acres.