AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Generic Capture vs. Capture LFR - Metering Pumps
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

17821x
Posted 11/27/2014 21:07 (#4205889)
Subject: Generic Capture vs. Capture LFR - Metering Pumps

NE Iowa
With all the posts about conventional corn and dropping traits thought I would post what I've learned about liquid insecticide. I've been using generic Capture for probably 8 years or so. I apply it in-furrow with 5 gallons of 10-34-0. There are several different names of generic Capture like Fanfare, Bifenthrin, and Discipline. There has been a lot of debate on here about whether generic Capture can be used with liquid fertilizer or whether you need to use the more expensive Capture LFR. The LFR stands for liquid fertilizer ready. I used to think that generic Capture mixed fine with fertilizer and stayed in suspension. I would pre-mix the generic Capture with a little water because I was told it helped. Last winter I ran some tests. I took jars of 10-34-0 and added the correct amount of Generic Capture. Within 30 minutes it would completely settle out. Just like oil and water. I tried pre-mixing the capture with a little water but that didn't help. I tried adding some proplylene glycol because I noticed that Capture LFR had that on the MSDS sheet but that didn't help. I tried a compatibility agent called Linke but that also didn't work either. Everything I tried failed and the generic Capture would settle out in a matter of minutes.