AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Estate planning
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> AgTalk CafeMessage format

ajb71
Posted 12/2/2012 18:06 (#2729015)
Subject: Estate planning

NW IA
Parents looked at LLC and LP and doesn't look to be working for what they want. Trying to get ownership to children and still keep income to themselves. Any expierence on estate planning that has worked?
Top of the page Bottom of the page
BHTN
Posted 12/2/2012 18:27 (#2729066 - in reply to #2729015)
Subject: RE: Estate planning

West Tennessee
I am no expert at estate planning but I do see a lot of plans. Family limited partnerships seem to be pretty popular with the advisers I see. I don't see any reason why one of these won't accomplish what they want. What problems do they see with the LLC's and LP's? I assume you know without me telling you that this isn't a generally a recommended DIY project.
Dave NWIL
Posted 12/2/2012 18:57 (#2729129 - in reply to #2729015)
Subject: Intentionaly defective grantor trust ??

is this what you are trying to do??

http://www.estate-plan.com/pdf/Art_IDGT_vac.pdf
necaseih
Posted 12/2/2012 19:06 (#2729144 - in reply to #2729015)

SC Nebraska
You should be able to do that through a LP....also could do it with an irrevocable trust.
tech5201
Posted 12/2/2012 19:40 (#2729207 - in reply to #2729015)

EC NE
I'm a big fan of C Corps.

We incorporated the farm assets when the folks retired 30 years ago.
Parents held the majority stock, act as the Directors, & took salary through simple payroll procedure.
Retained earnings accumulate on the balance sheet.
A brother farmed for quite a while & was paid salary.

We now rent & the folks have passed.
The C Corp. has made all the transitions very smooth.

Health-care premiums for the stockholders can be expensed through the C Corp.

I am not a lawyer & this is not legal advice! :-)
Topshot
Posted 12/2/2012 21:50 (#2729519 - in reply to #2729015)