AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Organic crops, notill or work ground?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

ajblair
Posted 9/7/2009 20:41 (#838552 - in reply to #838160)
Subject: RE: Organic crops, notill or work ground?

Dayton, IA
I am in my second year of transition on my first farm and am adding more organic acres . We custom feed pigs and already use manure so the only change for me was weed control. Corn is no problem for weeds, you can throw a lot of dirt into the row when it gets bigger and take care of most of the weeds.

For cover crop over beans going to corn I am going to do what everyone says not to and use rye. I will combine beans, spread rye on top of ground, spread liquid swine manure with disk applicator. Field cultivate early. I need to comply with NRCS for funding and they didn't have a problem with this, so I don't really care how much grows.

For me, I do tillage. Beans will be your hardest crop to keep clean, but you don't have to raise them if you don't want to.

This year I tried 80 acres of beans on half a field and put the rest into oats with clover underneath. Beans looked great up until middle of July when foxtail showed up. I think they would have been fairly clean but we had a 3 week period of rain in June when we didn't turn a wheel. When it dried up, got back in with a rotary hoe, but you could see small green weeds from the tractor, so rotary hoe wasn't too effective. Oats/clover are a great rotation with corn. Cut oats and any weeds in July, clover grows rest of summer. Cover with manure in fall and disk rip. Should be a big corn crop the year after.