AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Why are plots being blocked??
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

plowboy
Posted 11/17/2006 02:42 (#62588 - in reply to #62009)
Subject: RE: Why are plots being blocked??

Brazilton KS

As an Ag Economist, I'd say I am fairly well based in statistics, but that is beside the point.  I would assume you are familiar enough with 'demonstration plot' practice to know that there is a world of difference between planting whole fields in alternating strips with two different hybrids and how the vast majority of so-called plots are done.  There is much room to defend the former, although it can be biased if the operator has an agenda or simply doesn't know or think about what he is doing.  There is very little room to defend the latter. However neither can produce the data which can come from replicated, randomized trials.  This remains the "best design" at this time, and I'm willing to bet will continue to remain so for the forseeable future. 

Just when did the goal become to "average the spacial variation that exists in any field?"  The goal, as I understand it, is to judge the variation between the hybrids, eliminating as much outside variation as possible so that you can get a std dev low enough to actually predict something.  We want to evaluate hybrids, not throw a million other variables into the mix to dilute the data with a bunch of non-controlled limiting factors which are neither identified nor measured, and which throw the confidence interval so wide that all you can really say for sure is that it was a corn field.