AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Sugar Beets
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

cah
Posted 12/29/2008 15:12 (#550107)
Subject: Sugar Beets

Western Nebraska
I'm sure there are those of us on this site, that are in co-ops, and helped form co-op's of one form or another, who are on "boards of directors" who know that there are always two sides to every story. Things aren't always as they seem.
I'm a fourth generation farmer/rancher who believes in my future on the land, as well as my families future in agriculture, including my ownership in several co-ops like Western Sugar. I fully understood my commitment to the co-op from the start and expect to be growing beets to the best of my ability for many years to come. I didn't bite off more than I can chew. This co-op is managed by a board of growers who are in the same boat as I am with other commodities being possibly higher profit than beets.
To each his own. Live and let live.
May the future be brighter than today.
This co-op is not perfect, but improving.
www.westernsugar.com (credible website)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Badger
Posted 12/29/2008 15:59 (#550146 - in reply to #550107)
Subject: Re: Sugar Beets

Huntley Montana
Lot's of differances in differant areas. Ground here doesn't change hands much. Limited areas along river bottoms that are Irrigated. In the last 6-7 yrs I've lost 7-800 a due to the housing market. Kinda hard to keep/buy ground when the landlords can sell it for up to $200,000& PER acre. I don't raise corn. I was using Barley as a rotation with the beets. All My Hay ground has had RAPTOR applyed to it for weed control the seeding year.