AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

What I learned spraying this year.
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

golfnut
Posted 7/23/2016 21:01 (#5428367)
Subject: What I learned spraying this year.

Central Nebraska

This was my third year spraying our own crops with our pull type sprayer.  Its not a job I especially enjoy but I find that I really spend more time worrying about it than I need to.  When conditions are decent it can be fun.  When they're poor (weather or terrain) the enjoyment factor decreases rapidly.  I wasn't a total newbie to spraying before this as we had a 3 point machine that we would use for some bean posting but we now try to do it all our selves.  We did have the co-op do the last 300 acres of beans as they were nearly canopied and a self propelled fit down the row better.  With all that being said I thought it'd be beneficial to list the things I learned this year and also what I want/need to improve on.

1.  Generally, more GPA is better.  The hardcore RUP people say you can get away with as low as 5 gpa but with all the other additives we use (clethodim, cobra, cadet, Marvel, etc) I really need to commit to 14-15 gpa for all my post spraying.

2.  Next year I'm putting 1 size larger nozzles behind my tire rows.  The majority of my escapes appear to be in those rows.

3.  $1 saved on burndowns and pre's will cost $15 to TRY and fix later.

4.  If your first impression of a previously sprayed weed is that it will not die, it will not die.

5.  I need to put a fence row nozzle on my machine and commit to using it on field borders at burndown/pre time.  Lots of marestail escapes in those areas.  I need more info on fence row nozzles.