AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Dual receiver vs single receiver
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

djohnhill
Posted 7/8/2008 17:51 (#411750 - in reply to #411315)
Subject: Re: Dual receiver vs single receiver

Australia

Jacob,

I am aware of the effort but I am not personally involved in 17123. It is typically scientists that are appointed to ISO TC's. I am not a scientist by a long stretch. Clearly Leica is active on the other 17123 TC's so it would make sense to get our group involved.

I am not sure if you have read the papers in the following link...

http://www.mojortk.com/leica-web/app/content/public/resources/files/accuracy/2inch.pdf

If you look at my examples you can see that a Trimble Autopilot running a 332 or 252 receiver is not "sub-inch" at a 1mile baseline 95% of the time. I have several problems with the 'sub-inch' tag. Most companies quote their accuracy at a very short baseline (ie > 1mile) which is simply not representative of the environment these systems will be used. It is OK for surveyors who rarely venture 100 yards from their base but not for farming with people working 10 miles plus from their base.

Secondly, companies quote 1 sigma probabilities (ie 68%). It is simply misleading to use a 2/3rds probability in a non-technical market who most of the time don't understand that there is potential for 1/3rd of the time to be well above 'sub-inch'. Auto-steer is not a stop-start activity like surveying where surveyor can wait for a good fix. Tractors can work 24/7 as you know. This does not get communicated during the sales process. Hence we get people thinking dual frequency RTK is the same as single frequency RTK; or SF2 the same as mojoRTK; or they can't understand why they get blowouts; or they can't understand why they can't get back on track next year.