AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Who here relies only on lick tubs for mineral?
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [50 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Stock TalkMessage format

schmitty
Posted 12/1/2016 22:38 (#5670128)
Subject: Who here relies only on lick tubs for mineral?

NCSD
I need advice with my mineral program in my cow herd. I have been using crystalyx tubs for a few years now. I feel they are a good product but expensive. Best thing about them: no loss from weather and every cow gets a chance.

My problem is my dad thinks they are worthless. He says there is nowhere near enough mineral content in them to keep cattle alive. Every cow we lost this last year he blames on my mineral program.

I have been using the rolyx - max tubs during spring and summer months. And BGF-30 fall and winter.

Am I really abusing my cows that much? Am I that much of a fool to believe the sales pitch saying the tubs deliver 100% Nutrient requirements?
Thanks for the replies.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
oldskool
Posted 12/1/2016 23:06 (#5670165 - in reply to #5670128)
Subject: RE: Who here relies only on lick tubs for mineral?

To keep cattle alive? Unless your area has a significant mineral deficiency or over abundance of a certain mineral your cows shouldn't just go feet up.

My old man pulled that crap with me when I was just starting too, anything that got sick or died was from a decision I made that wasn't what he'd have done. My cure for that was having the deceased posted after asking his opinion on why they died. Only takes a couple times of being wrong in front of a vet to fix.