AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Custom farming and maybe moral concerns with this weather
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

gang greene
Posted 5/16/2009 14:48 (#715503)
Subject: Custom farming and maybe moral concerns with this weather

Northwest Indiana
I custom farm quite a few acres (for me anyway) on the side. I have been doing this for several years, and historically, it was necessary to do this. It is not as essential now in this market place, as well as having some more 50/50 rented acres. Nonetheless, I have continued because it is nice cash flow for machinery payments.

I have never had a contract with this family. Every year, he and his wife and I sit down and they lay out what they would like done. We have had disagreements on the rates in the past, but I have pretty much won that argument with "if you can get someone to do what I do cheaper, then get them. I understand." Well, I have stayed, and I have raised my rates every year the last 3, because the custom farming is a lot of work for very little reward. This last year, I did ask to reduce acres, and they have another farm nearby that someone else custom farmed for them that was willing to take the acres. Our relationship is strictly business. No family or friendship ties.

Once again...no written contract. But the understanding was that I did not do any of their planting until mine was complete, unless ground conditions warranted otherwise. Then I would go and do some of their planting. I also have a sprayer that has done a lot of sitting in the spring and I have had some of my post atrazine/ harness hired by the service company, basically so I could take care of planting their corn. That never really bothered me because it costs plenty to spray on my own, and I would rather be running a planter anyway.