AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

SMS Basic
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Computer TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 9/13/2016 03:37 (#5525800 - in reply to #5524919)
Subject: RE: SMS Basic

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
I have mapped tile lines with Ag Leader equipment. I have no experience with the Pro 700 so I'm not familiar with its capabilities.

With the Ag Leader equipment, I temporarily installed the display and GPS in my Polaris Ranger. One year I actually used my combine without a head on it. This actually worked well as I sat up nice and high, the equipment was already there and the combine provided a nice stable ride.

With the Ag Leader displays it is possible to create a planting configuration whose normal use is for recording crop varieties while planting. I used a planting configuration as a workaround for the tile mapping situation. When a planting configuration is used, it is common to use an implement switch to start/stop the mapping. This is not necessary for this application as the operator will want to start/stop the mapping at will so using the onscreen icon works well.

I setup a fictitious planter with a width of 5' or so. The reason for picking 5' is so the line on the screen is visible but yet small enough to be useful. I picked a crop type that is not normally planted in my area. I chose Peanuts. I created several Peanut varieties such as "Old Main", 10 inch, 8 inch, 4 inch etc. I then start to map by driving over or close by each run. I choose the "variety" that is appropriate for the tile I'm driving over. I enable the mapping by using the onscreen icon. As I drive beside the tile line, a line is drawn on the onscreen map. The line is the color associated with the Peanut variety I am supposedly planting at the time.