AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

HD turns 50
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Computer TalkMessage format

WYDave
Posted 8/25/2006 05:45 (#38572 - in reply to #38560)
Subject: RE: HD turns 50

Wyoming

What most folks take for granted today even more than the size of drives is the reliablity. When I graduated in '84, I went to work for Harris RF in Rochester, NY. There, they had a PDP-11/70 that had not one, but two (!) 300MB RM05 drives, the DEC equivalent of the CDC 9766 300MB drive. I thought I was in hacker heaven. They were the size of washing machines and you had to mount the 12-platter disk pack into the machine from the top. If you didn't take special care in the handling of the disk pack, you'd have a head crash.

Here's a picture of a DEC RM05 disk pack with a semi-modern 20GB disk drive sitting on top:

http://www.psych.usyd.edu.au/pdp-11/Images/rm05.jpeg