AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Kansas City Wheat charts again - still looks like a sell to me
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Market TalkMessage format

dpilot83
Posted 5/21/2015 21:10 (#4584294)
Subject: Kansas City Wheat charts again - still looks like a sell to me

Edit: If anyone stumbles upon this in the future, I think it's likely my understanding of market structure was not complete at this point. Please refer to this thread.

With the rain I continue to find myself making some time for studying the markets. As usual, I should preface this by saying I am very new to all of this and you would be very unwise to make any decisions based upon what I post. I'm just using this board as a place to find people to tear my ideas apart, not as a place to recommend my ideas to others.

As I look at Kansas City wheat, it appears to me that it is still solidly entrenched in a downtrend. This particular place seems like a very interesting place to me though, for reasons I'll explain in a minute. First though, why do I say we're in a downtrend? Aren't we at the peak of a recent $0.80 rally? The chart below will help resolve that question.

Each line above (maybe not the first one? jpartner or NoDakFarmer?) marked "structure" is a confirmation of sorts that we're in a downtrend. Each of those highs went on to make new lows and each of those highs was never breached again by a higher high. For us to exit the downtrend, one of those structural levels needs to be breached. Until that happens, we are in for another leg down, probably to new lows on this chart. The above chart was a weekly chart. The daily chart below is basically the same: