AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Economics 101, Beef and Cattle
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Stock TalkMessage format

Jim
Posted 5/3/2021 12:09 (#8984989)
Subject: Economics 101, Beef and Cattle

Driftless SW Wisconsin

I'm a retired engineer with some cows and not a trained economist but I have picked up a few things about econ and the business world over the years. For what it's worth:

• Ever since about the mid 1970s, public (stock issuing) corporations work to maximize profits for the STOCKHOLDERS. They do not operate in the best interests of their employees, suppliers, dealers or even their customers except as necessary to maximize profits for their STOCKHOLDERS. This is a basic concept that explains a lot of corporate behavior.
  • US companies traditionally have looked to increase profits by selling higher volumes of products which usually resulted in keeping product selling prices low to keep volume up.
  • European and especially German companies take a different approach to the US high volume theory. European companies would rather sell 10 products at $10 each to produce $100 in sales where American companies in the past strove to sell 100 products at $1 each to produce $100 in sales. An extreme example but hopefully shows the idea.
  • American companies in many industries are finding it is a lot easier to produce fewer products and sell each at a higher price than to work hard to produce a lot of lower cost product.
  • In a real, free, capitalist economy the thing that is supposed to keep prices in check and stop them from going through the roof is COMPETITION. If you charge too much you theoretically invite new competitors into your market.
I read on this board that fed cattle prices are going to up on such and such a date if I can just hang on until then, etc, etc.