AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

All the talk about fish
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Kitchen TableMessage format

Pigpiggy
Posted 3/7/2020 09:54 (#8087528 - in reply to #8087477)
Subject: RE: All the talk about fish

Texas
cfdr - 3/7/2020 09:22

John Burns - 3/6/2020 16:33

I agree. Alaska in that time period was kind of the modern day wild west of the time period.

A scuba dive club locally when I was 13 and first learning to dive had a character that was in the club but spent most of his time in Alaska mining gold diving in rivers sucking up material and running it through a sluice. He would come back once or twice a year and regale us with stories. Scooter Anderson was his name. Would have been around 1967-8.

John

You're right about Alaska at that time - it really was "the modern day wild west." I was in the SF Bay area in 1967-68. Interesting place. That's why I picked that area when I graduated. I drove up in 69.

Thanks to all of you who posted responses. I appreciate them. It's fun thinking about those days again. I'll take a break and try to post a few more after awhile. I guess, whoever is not interested just doesn't have to open the link.

Thanks again.