AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Any of you, "The crop gets planted every year..." types out there?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Market TalkMessage format

WeaveFarmer
Posted 5/25/2019 07:55 (#7519696 - in reply to #7519468)
Subject: RE: Any of you, "The crop gets planted every year..." types out there?

Boone Co. Iowa
I have been farming for a living since 2006, and I just finished planting our corn crop Thursday. This is the 6th season I have had this "new to me" planter, and I have never really had to replant with it. I remember a few years where we had acres and acres of ponds, etc. with the previous planter, and I remember going all around into "small" pockets and planting some early variety corn and/or beans. My point is, I haven't had to do this for several years, and it looks like this might be the year. Not to mention how, looking at the numbers, how very late this corn crop is going to be, and how many acres that get planted late, in not ideal conditions, or folks just take PP. Personally from all the information I have gathered, this year is a game-changer, and it is going to significantly reduce the corn carryout. I believe market has been complacent and been "saved" by the American farmer who, when the conditions are right, can get a bunch of corn in the ground. Improvements in the past decade in tiling, size of machinery and autosteer and lights, as well as fungicides, seed treatments, genetics, etc. have really made the corn and soybean farmer extremely efficient. I think supply of corn will not match demand this year....