AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Built a tile plow...pics
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Machinery TalkMessage format

fox128
Posted 2/24/2018 08:45 (#6601202 - in reply to #6600937)
Subject: RE: Built a tile plow...pics

West Central IA
in the one pic you can see i used 3 pieces of 3/8 flat to make the bottom of the shank. It is shaped so the 4" tile will be mostly supported 1/3 of the way up from the bottom per tile mfg specs. I read a v in the bottom can let water run under the tile and wash out. I looked at a big gold digger and it had 4'' of flat on the bottom, but they have to work with 8" tile+. So i think my design will actually be superior because it is shaped specifically for 4" tile. But i'm no engineer or tiling expert...

As far a plans, I could give a rundown on what I did, but i'm not smart enough to run a cad program or whatever.

the main frame is 6x6x3/8 square tubing. I used all of a 24' stick, a 20 would probably come up short.
the brackets for the 3 pt, cylinder, and pivot are 5/8x6 flat. I think i have about 5' left over at this point.
I'd have to measure to check what widths I used for the bottom flat, I believe it was on 2.5" and two 2". I buy most of my material direct from state steel omaha.
The main pivot is 2" i.d. bushing. I originally used a 1 15/16 pin but wasnt happy with the amount of slop so I had a 2" shaft machined down .015", if i did it again I would have the bushing bored the .015.
The cylinder is a 6x20x3. I only needed 16" of stroke, but surplus center had the 20 for $385.... cheaper than I could buy a 5" with 16in stroke. Might be overkill on the cylinder but thats one thing I didnt want to undersize.
I can get more specific measurements etc if someone wants them, but I wouldn't recommend copying mine yet, as others pointed out, it may explode the first time it goes in the ground. I'll be sure to report back with how it works.