AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Neighbors combining resources cow/calf, backgrounding questions
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Stock TalkMessage format

Kautzman
Posted 8/16/2017 18:39 (#6191348)
Subject: Neighbors combining resources cow/calf, backgrounding questions

First off want to say long time lurker and reader on here, first time poster. Have learned a lot and gotten a lot of different view points and ideas from operators and different parts of the country and even the world. So thanks for that.

I'm a young operator that has a cow/calf herd that also backgrounds my calves. I've been doing this for nearly a decade, and the biggest obstacle for me so far has been finding a place to calve cows out in the spring. I'm currently on my folks place but it isn't big enough for expansion and isn't the best of places to calve out in the spring as it is poorly drained. The other limiting factor is that I am by myself so I don't have anybody readily available to help when having issues or watch cows during the day when I'm at work.

What I've been brainstorming over lately is combining resources with a neighbor and how a person would go about doing it that would be fair but also allow both of us to expand. He's got a good area to calve cows out in the spring and we work well together.

My biggest available resource is that I have ample fall/winter grazing (weather permitting) on combined crop and grassland that also works as a good area to feed the cows at. My neighbor does not have that capability and generally has to start feeding pretty early in the winter. He also doesn't work off the ranch so he'd be available to check cows during the day and we'd work together when needed.