AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Bulls, STO hay, chute pics
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Stock TalkMessage format

Jim
Posted 7/22/2017 10:58 (#6141971)
Subject: Bulls, STO hay, chute pics

Driftless SW Wisconsin

It's been a very busy time on a number of fronts, especially with the incredibly wet weather we've had, but I thought I'd post some pics.

On the STO hay discussions recently: I am more and more realizing that I am really a grass farmer. Row crop corn/bean folks and others selling rice, wheat etc. and those selling hay, market their crop directly.

I market my grass crop processed through cattle as do dairy folks.  There should be some value added there, the more processed (through larger cattle) the more the value added, at least theoretically.  I can't see how you can be profitable in cow/calf without the ability to manage pastures and make your own hay.  Yes sometimes you can buy hay cheaper than you can make it. But sometimes you can't.  And when you make your own you can manage the hay quality to match your needs.

Having been on both sides of the purchase all hay or make your own, I am solidly in the belief that, at least in cow/calf, I need to raise almost all of my cattle's feed needs myself.  And in a rotational grazing system, in my climate, carrying capacity is increased so much I have acres available to raise good hay.  Cattle grass consumption is fairly constant, grass forage growth is not. I find I need to have a way to even that out by making hay when I have excess grass (compared to consumption) and feeding hay/resting pastures when forage growth is less than consumption.  Making hay in a strip also helps control weeds.

A line of decent hay equipment is an investment and one which I believe has a very good ROI in the long run in several ways. Buy good equipment on time at today's low interest rates. A baler especially must work when you need it.