AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

drone for christmas
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Drone TalkMessage format

potentialag
Posted 12/18/2015 23:36 (#4970887 - in reply to #4966827)
Subject: RE: drone for christmas

Dwight IL
First lets get this out, that I am a drone dealer. (I concentrate on education first, meeting your goals 2nd, and sales third) However I am a farmer first, and have had my own Ag Drone Kit for 2 years now, a Phantom 2. That being said if your significant other is looking for a decent drone option for you, the best thing going for the $ is the Phantom 3. There are two models that fit into the ag sector one being the Standard, and the other the Professional. The standard is cheaper but you only have a range of around 1300ft while the professional will easily fly across a field without issue (generally up to 1 mile give or take).

If you are serious about using one on the farm, i HIGHLY recommend buying a kit that has extra batteries and a hard case. I usually have 3-4 fully charged batteries with me in the morning and will easily kill all of them by lunch. Flight times on the Phantom 3 average around 20 minutes and the Phantoms come with their own 2.7 or 4k camera (no need to buy a gimbal or gopro). examples here (http://www.potentialag.com/drones-sales.html)

Comparing other options, like the 3DR Solo: The Solo is a great ship and is one of the very few that offers complete control of the GOPRO camera. However, the SOLO is cheaper than the phantom 3, but usually doesnt come with a gimbal or gopro (you can easily spend $300 and $400 more respectvely). That aside, I really like the SOLO for short range use (it wont go past 1500ft or so at very best). Parts (props) and service can be harder to come by.