AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

When do you replace bush hog blades?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Machinery TalkMessage format

jdflyer
Posted 9/30/2013 12:22 (#3357254)
Subject: When do you replace bush hog blades?

Centralia, MO
I'm a sorry photographer but I tried to get some shots of the condition of my blades. They are about five years old now. Local welding shop says if they try to sharpen bush hog blades it takes too long and doesn't last. I know a bush hog will never cut a slick as a lawn mower but these are starting to leave a more ragged cut. And you can see that the ends are getting rounded over.

(0930131209b.jpg)

(0930131211a.jpg)

Attachments
----------------
Attachments 0930131209b.jpg (61KB - 441 downloads)
Attachments 0930131211a.jpg (36KB - 421 downloads)
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Mark (EC,IN)
Posted 9/30/2013 12:23 (#3357255 - in reply to #3357254)
Subject: RE: When do you replace bush hog blades?

Schlegel Farms, Hagerstown Indiana
When they quite cutting good.
iseedit
Posted 9/30/2013 12:42 (#3357286 - in reply to #3357254)
Subject: RE: When they are too bent up or sharpened down to nothing ~

central - east central Minnesota -

jdflyer - 9/30/2013 12:22 I'm a sorry photographer but I tried to get some shots of the condition of my blades. They are about five years old now. Local welding shop says if they try to sharpen bush hog blades it takes too long and doesn't last. I know a bush hog will never cut a slick as a lawn mower but these are starting to leave a more ragged cut. And you can see that the ends are getting rounded over.

If that's a rought cut brush and ditch type grass cutter . . . . Sharpen them yourself.
I sharpen my blades at least once a day (morning, before starting) and may even hit them again if I get into rocks or dirt banks.
I've sharpened half the blade away.