AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

New Leader 3020 G4 spinner
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Machinery TalkMessage format

pauls
Posted 11/5/2011 15:05 (#2034759)
Subject: New Leader 3020 G4 spinner

Is there a spread sheet with general recommendations on fan frame setting, spinner speed, ground speed, spread width, etc...? I know you will still need to pan test, just looking for a starting point. I have been operating a 3020 G4 mounted on a terra gator for 3 years now, but I inherited the job and was given instructions by old timers set in their ways.

I have always spread with a 60 ft spread width, fan speed of 600 for fertilizer, and 800 for ag lime. I do change the density in the computer (New Leader DP6) to match the density of the product. My acres are always close and the amount of fertilizer I am to apply matches my acres applied.

I do have the option to run VRT (variable rate) and I do use this a little. How does running variable rate affect my settings?

I have read the manuals which helped a little but I am wanting to learn as much as I can about this applicator.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
tooth and nail
Posted 11/5/2011 17:51 (#2034908 - in reply to #2034759)
Subject: Re: New Leader 3020 G4 spinner

I run between 720 - 760 fert. 80' , 720 lime 60'
JHEnt
Posted 11/6/2011 07:00 (#2035644 - in reply to #2034759)
Subject: RE: New Leader 3020 G4 spinner

Southern Illinois

1st, you need to pan test to check pattern and spread width. Find the spinner rpms that get you spread width first then adjust fan position for pattern if at all possible.

Spinner rpm for width will depend on the height of the machine. Bigger tires will need slower fan speed for the same width.