AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Should I buy EZ Boom instead of a Raven?
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 1/13/2007 13:33 (#87616 - in reply to #87604)
Subject: RE: Should I buy EZ Boom instead of a Raven?

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
Good Question - I work for a dealer who sells both. I also farm and have a lot of experience with the Raven 450 and also the Insight Direct Command.

I have no field experience with EZ-Boom but we do have one on display in the store. I normally have a PC running a GPS simulator to show off the Insight Direct Command system. This allows a customer to see what the screen display would look like in normal operation. I have a flow simulator and valves connected so that the Autoswath feature can be demonstrated also.

I did hook up the PC with the GPS simulator to an EZ-Boom to get a feel for what it would look like in comparison. I was concerned that the small screen would be too crowded for the spray operation. I must admit that I was quite impressed with the balance of information shown on the EZ-Guide screen.

The menus are well arranged with some shortcuts to the more commonly used menu items such as rate, totals, etc.

That being said, I would personally find it difficult to use the EZ-Boom system after having the luxury of the Insight Direct Command system. The large touch screen with coverage map is extremely useful in spraying situations.

The EZ-Boom with EZ-Guide is not intended to be in the same league as the Insight Direct Command or the EZ-Boom with Field Manager Display.