AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Whole farm rev protection policies
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Market TalkMessage format

Jamie2004
Posted 1/5/2016 11:23 (#5012612 - in reply to #5012017)
Subject: RE: Whole farm rev protection policies

Rockford, IL
Disclaimer: I am a crop insurance agent and work for the Gulke Group but I do know the ins and outs of Whole Farm Revenue Protection and have been conduction educational seminar an this for months.

I respectfully have to disagree with some of the comments made on this thread so far. Yes it was originally intended for diversified farmers and yes it has mainly been utilized in the Pacific Northwest but things have changed. Let me be clear that this is not available for a person that has one commodity. If you have only two commodities it is true that you can only protect up to 75% of your expected 2016 schedule F gross revenue but when you see the price for that protection you will give it some serious thought especially if you are in a scenario where you need to cut some input costs. At the 75% level you get an 80% subsidy rate. It has more advantages for farmers with three or more crops but only have two commodities should not discourage you from looking into this further.

You can buy this as a stand-alone or in addition to normal federal crop insurance and there are many reason to buy both. Even if you buy both you will still be saving a large amount of money for Whole Farm Revenue Protection and MPCI crop insurance than what you paid for just MPCI in 2015. This is because you get further subsidy discount on your MPCI when you buy both. I could contend that even if you think that you will not collect on Whole Farm is it worth buying it just to get the MPCI discount!