AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

Best way to learn modern equipment operation
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Precision TalkMessage format

Kneedeep 2011
Posted 7/26/2015 09:50 (#4699991)
Subject: Best way to learn modern equipment operation

North Mississippi Delta / Alabama Gulf Coast
My story;
Carpenter by trade, now a working manager for a major Home remodeling corporation in one of the local divisions for 16 years, I'm 58 . Keeps me jumping and running to manage crews and close jobs. Good pay and benefits but has become the only reason I am still there is can't find anything else to match pay (Specialty product line not many companies offer)

My wife tells everyone that I want to be a farmer when I grow up. Dad and Uncle had cattle farm as sideline to the Commercial Construction business. Spent as many hours in hayfields as on framing crew when I worked for them. Bought 27 acres after marrying and worked as Home builder during day and raised feeders on silage, ear corn and hay we raised. Used paychecks to pay feedstore bill and buy old equipment. Sold out after 6 years when drought dried up 60 acres rented hay ground and loans due on 35 head of bred pairs purchased to start the farm. Paid off every debt and kept land eventually selling to my brother for what I paid for it. (We all struggled in the 80's) Took job as Ranch foreman on BTO- Purebreed cattle, commercial herd, cotton cash crop, silage and hay raised to feed 800 head. Owner died from massive heart attack after 3 years and kids had farm sold before he was cold.
Back to construction.