AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

need a good picture editing program.
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Computer TalkMessage format

tedbear
Posted 1/18/2015 07:43 (#4319741 - in reply to #4319469)
Subject: RE: need a good picture editing program.

Near Intersection of I-35 & I-90 Southern Mn.
I bought a copy of PhotoShop several years ago. It has lots of features and I still have it on an old XP machine. I doubt if it would load on this Win 8 machine but I haven't tried it.

There are newer versions of PhotoShop but I haven't explored them. I probably only learned about 1% of the features of the version I've got and have forgotten much of that. I did a search on Adobe PhotoShop and notice they are on version 13. I'm using version 2. I notice there are many variations most of which are beyond your desires. I notice there are some free versions but I have no experience with any of them.

I have used my version with success in certain situations. I went on a major trip to Australia some years ago. When I got home I go the idea of putting a short note of explanation on each picture. With PhotoShop, I was able to create a text box with some text within it and place this on the modified picture. This text box and text was placed in a portion of the picture so as not to detract or cover up important parts. That meant that on many pictures the text was placed up in the sky but at other times might have been placed lower on the picture.

When the modified pictures were saved, PhotoShop defaults to giving them a name such as copy of. That way once the modification is complete, you still have the untouched original and the newly modified copy. When you save the picture you can give it any name that you like as well and save it in different formats.