AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

What farm kids can come up with
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Stock TalkMessage format

NEIndiana
Posted 9/1/2014 07:18 (#4049750 - in reply to #4049731)
Subject: RE: What farm kids can come up with

Columbia City, Indiana
My son is 4 and 100% farmboy. He will tell anyone who listens that he lives on a farm and we have cows and John Deere tractors, etc. We visited my Grandpa (his great) a while back and were having lunch when one of the aides (Granpda is in assisted living) came over to the table. Granpda pointed at Ethan and said "This boy here is gonna be a farmer." Ethan replied very seriously "I AM a farmer."

This was my oldest daughter's first year in 4-H. One of her pigs was big enough to show but not quite big enough to sell, so we decided to bring it home and put more weight on it for a few weeks, then put it in the freezer. My daughter was totally on board with this plan. Our kids learn from a young age (too young according to my wife) why we raise animals and what they are for. Anyway, one day we were feeding the pig, and I could tell Alia was thinking about something. Pretty soon she said "Dad, why don't we just tell them to make this WHOLE pig into bacon?" We got a good laugh out of that, and if it was possible that is exactly what we would've done. She was quite proud the first time we had supper from "her" pig.