AgTalk Home
AgTalk Home
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

?? for Brad at lawfarms (and others) about gypsum
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Forums List -> Crop TalkMessage format

lawfarms
Posted 8/28/2014 21:30 (#4043992 - in reply to #4043063)
Subject: RE: ?? for Brad at lawfarms (and others) about gypsum

King City, Mo
Ok....let's see if I can explain this. First off I'm a farmer and own a little ground. I'm also a CCA and plot guy for regional soybean seed co. I am a student of the Albrecht's soil system.

Gypsum is not some magical stuff that fixes all soils. You need to figure out what your limiting factor is and correct that the cheapest way possible.

Gypsum is ca and sulfur.

High Ca lime is high ca low mg.

Dolomitic lime has more mg in it.

Which lime do you need depends on your base saturations of ca and mg and your cec.

If you have a sand soil you need upwards of 20% mg to be "ideal" if you have a heavier soil like mine you want your mg down to 10-12%. Ca you want +68%. This works here as Albrecht did a lot of his work at the u of mo.

You can get sulfur from ams, or elemental S too.

The sulfur bonds with the mg and makes epson salts and if you have the drainage it leaches off. If your mg% is higher then ideal you want this to happen but you must also need Ca to make gypsum the right amendment to buy if it's priced right and can be trucked economically.

Gypsum is hard to get here at a low cost. Pel gyp was $80/tn fob last time I looked into it.

I have good aglime 6miles away when the query has it in stock for $10-11/tn fob. We spread 4tn back when it was $5-6/tn then more later as we got funds and time to cover the acres.

I use ams on every acre every year. As my sulfur source. 100# on soys and more on corn and wheat.